Scooby Doo and WWE pair up for awful straight-to-DVD movie idea

I must have been 4 or 5 years old when my dad came home with VHS in hand. I saw it was cartoon, so it was obviously for me. I was pounced on him like puppy realizing his owner has come home. He put me down and I was jittering along him as he walked from the door to the kitchen. He was letting the suspense build before he unveiled the content of the videotape. With a smile, he handed it to me and I subsequently lost my shit.

It was a red box with many of my wrestling favourites on the cover: Rowdy Piper, Andre the Giant, Junk Yard Dog, Nikolai Volkoff, and, front and centre, Hulk Hogan. My dad got me a VHS of several episodes of “Hulk Hogan’s Rock ‘n’ Wrestling”. I ran to the TV, told my brother to change it to channel three, and popped in the VHS. It was a euphoric moment. It was an awful cartoon, with close to no premise, but if you put wrestlers on a product kid-me is chomping at the bit to have it in my possession.

So what the WWE is trying to recreate that same joy I experienced as a kid. They threw a bunch of names into a cartoon with Scooby Doo, hoping to sell the units–and they probably will. It will have no real story, the good guys will win, and parents across North America will be forced to watch it over and over again until the DVD is “misplaced”.

It won’t be good, but it’ll be a heck of a memory for a handful of kids. Maybe they’ll write about it in 20 years.

Have a great Wednesday, y’all!

Post Script: Here’s the intro for “Hulk Hogan’s Rock n’ Wrestling”.

Ah, the memories.

 

Leave a Reply

